Southwest China

Regional range

Southwestern China refers to the large area located in the southwestern China, including most of the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau, Sichuan Basin, Qinba Mountain and Yungui Plateau. The corresponding administrative divisions roughly include most of Sichuan, Chongqing, Yunnan Province, Guizhou and Tibet Autonomous Region and southern Shaanxi Province (Southern Shaanxi).

Topographic landform

The terrain of Southwest China is more complicated, but more significant divided into three terrain units:

Sichuan Basin

Southwest China

Yungui Plateau

The main scope of the hilly area of ​​Middle and Gaoshan Mountain in Yungui Plateau includes Guizhou Province and the south and Middle East of Yunnan Province.

Qinghai-Tibet Plateau

The main scope of the high mountain area of ​​the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau includes the northwest of the Tibet Autonomous Region, northern Sichuan Province, the western, southwest and Yunnan Province.

River Lake


Dujiang Dafa River in this area.

The middle of the region and the north are mainly based on rivers in the Yangtze River Basin. The southern and western parties are submitted to the Zhujiang River Basin, the Yuanjiang (Honghe) basin, the Yulongjiang (Mekong River) basin, the River (Salwood River) basin, the Iliva basin, the Ganges River Basin, and the Indian river basin. In addition, the inner flow area in the Tibet is also in the lake of the Size Plateau.


The lake in this area is mainly the plateau lake, basically concentrated in three areas: 1, Tibetan Plateau lake area, including Tibet Ali, Naqu, Shigatse three regions Some areas, mainly representing lakes are Nammine; 2, Inductive High Plateau lake intensive district, including the south of Kunming, Yunnan, mainly representing lakes for Dianchi, Fu Xianhu; 3. Northwest Plateau lake distribution area, including In the Yunnan Province in the north of Dali, there are main representatives of the lakes, Wuhu, etc.

Climate and agriculture

corresponds to the terrain area, the climate in Southwest China is mainly divided into three categories:

1, Sichuan Basin Wet North Asia Tropical Monsoon Climax . The climate is relatively soft, the humidity is large, the cloudy fog, plus the terrain is relatively gentle, is a region where agricultural concentration is developed, and the population is also more concentrated. Big cities such as Chengdu, Nanchong, Chongqing, etc. are distributed here.

Second, Yungui Plateau Low Wea Plateau Central South Asia Tropical Monsoon Climate. Low latitude plateau is a great hot bed, such as spring climate. The four seasons such as spring climate have Kunming, Dali, etc., Mountain is suitable for development of forest animal husbandry, and there is an industrial industry such as agriculture, flowers, tobacco.

three, high mountain cold belt climate and three-dimensional climate distribution area. It is the main animal husbandry area.

In addition, the southern end of the zone is also distributed in small part of the tropical season rain forest climate zone, and the dry and wet season is clear. Representing the area of ​​Xishuangbanna, a plurality of rubber, tropical fruit, etc.

Related Articles